News‎ > ‎Organizations‎ > ‎

Scholars Bowl places at League

posted Feb 3, 2016, 9:40 AM by Unknown user   [ updated Feb 8, 2016, 9:48 AM ]

The League Scholars Bowl Meet was Jan. 26, hosted at Garden Plain, where both the JV and varsity teams competed. The varsity team was comprised of seniors John Andra, Anthony Becker, Wesley Hullinger, Brandon Koch, and Brenna Leahy, and junior Dennis Zoglmann. The JV team consisted of sophomores Riley Akiu, Makenna Beesley, John Hartman, and Courtnee Wisdom, and freshman Cooper Boyles. The first round started at 4 p.m. and ended at almost 9 p.m.

“I think we did well, but we could’ve done better,” Wisdom said. “We just need to work on not being afraid of buzzing in and guessing an answer when no one knows.”

The JV finished the night with a tie for third place, ending in fourth with a record of 6-3. The varsity finished the night in third with a record of 7-2.

“We have a tough league, so anytime we can medal there, it’s pretty awesome,” head coach Connie Pauly said.

Varsity ended the night with a total score of 570 points, with Becker being the top scorer with 160 points. The JV team ended with a total score of 290 points, with Beesley being the top scorer with 140 points.

“I think we did pretty well,” Becker said. “We didn’t do as well as we hoped, but getting third at League is never bad.”

The Regional Scholars Bowl meet will be held on Feb. 4, hosted at Belle Plaine. There will be 16 teams participating in the tournament, with two pools. The top three teams from each pool will move on to bracket play, and then the top three teams from the finals will move on to State. The last time a team from Conway went to State and placed was in 2011, with the team getting third.

“I’ve been looking forward for this team for years,” said Mrs. Pauly. “The team has a good chance of making the top three at Regionals, so I have high hopes for them.”

The JV and Varsity Scholars Bowl teams participated at the League meet. JV got fourth and Varsity got third. Varsity will go on to Regionals on Jan. 4.