Opinion‎ > ‎

Editorials

Can money buy happiness?

posted Jan 23, 2018, 9:27 AM by Adyson Koster

Can money buy happiness? There is an apparent relationship between money and happiness, but I don’t think that you have to have money to be happy. Results from a recent survey organized by Scott Bilker said that 48 percent of adults said that money can't buy happiness, and the other 52 percent said it could.

I think it boosts your happiness to be able to provide for others or spend money on something you want. If there is a struggle to provide basic needs, it can cause anyone to stress. Plus, money seems to make you want more and more and become greedy.

Even if you had all the money in the world and you had everything, then what do you do? That stuff might satisfy you for the time being, but the feeling will go away. Money can’t buy relationships with people that actually care about you. Some might say more money brings more stress, like the possibility of being robbed or held for ransom. You might even start to care about maintaining money more than your family or your friends.

The best things in life for me are free; you have to find happiness on your own. It is something no one can buy or give to you. I would definitely choose a relationship over a material thing.

This question is a hard one to answer; everyone’s preference is different for how you fill that void, whether it’s money or relationships. I think it really does depend on the person and how they grew up and what they want to do with their money. I believe that you should find happiness in your family or a hobby, not compulsive spending to fill a hole in your life.


Sexual assault: an epidemic

posted Jan 18, 2018, 9:46 AM by Amanda Smith   [ updated Jan 18, 2018, 9:47 AM ]

        Unless you have been isolated from the world of politics and Hollywood in the past months, you are no stranger to the abundance of sexual assault allegations flooding our nation. The domino effect began with a single article in the “New York Times” detailing multiple accusations against movie director Harvey Weinstein, and since then, there have been more than 50 women come forward in his case alone.

Unfortunately, sexual harassment does not limit itself to politicians and Hollywood stars. A major issue that needs to be addressed is sexual assault on college campuses. According to the National Sexual Violence Resource Center, one in 5 women and one in 16 men will be sexually assaulted while attending college. Not only that, but 90 percent of these assaults will go unreported.

    Regardless of gender, age, race, or religion, I believe that we can all agree on one thing: sexual assault, harassment and abuse is a problem not only in America, but in the world today.

You may be wondering, what can we do to put an end to these crimes? We can begin by believing the women who make these claims. According to the NSVRC, “the prevalence of falsely accusing someone of rape ranges from two to eight percent” so the whole “she is lying to get money” narrative is statistically unlikely. Eliminating this factor could encourage more victims to come forward and give them a stronger support system when they do.

Another positive step to take would be keeping students informed on precautions to take when feeling threatened or uncomfortable. Although it seems unfair to make victims adjust to the actions of perpetrators, it could be an effective way to lessen sexual violence. These precautions range from how you wear your hair to the usage of the “buddy system” when in an unfamiliar environment.

Due to the recent abundance of sexual assault claims, I believe that there needs to be greater efforts taken to try and decrease these numbers. I believe that as a nation, we have recognized the problem, but we all know that actions speak louder than words.



The Theories of the Bermuda Triangle

posted Dec 5, 2017, 9:43 AM by Karley Mooneyham

We have all heard of the Bermuda Triangle, the range of sea that is from Florida to the Bermuda Islands to Puerto Rico (where the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic Ocean and Caribbean Sea meet) and the scientific theories and the supernatural conspiracies that go along with it. The supernatural conspiracies are a long stretch from facts; people should look at facts besides looking into stuff that isn’t there.

There are many scientific theories out there. According to Livescience website, one of the theories for the boats wrecking is that a rogue wave that will appear in the middle of the ocean and engulf the boats. A rogue wave is a very large unexpected wave that reaches the surface of the ocean that can be very dangerous to even large ships such as ocean liners. The area that the Bermuda Triangle is located is a very common area for rogue waves. One of the theories for never finding remains is that in the area in which the Bermuda Triangle is located, the current is so strong that it is almost impossible to dive to look for the remains, and it is so strong it could move the remains of any ship or plane.

One theory for the aircraft malfunctions is the theory of the electronic fog; it is a grayish cloud of electronic magnetic fields that form over the ocean and causes the aircraft to malfunction, according to the Bermuda-Attractions website.

The supernatural conspiracies are a stretch to the reality of the situation-- science can at least put up a logical explanation. People just look into things a little too much rather than thinking logically about the situation.


Do you think life exists somewhere besides earth?

posted Nov 27, 2017, 9:24 AM by Adyson Koster

With hundreds of billions of galaxies in the universe and even more stars and planets in those galaxies, isn’t it closed-minded of us to think that we are the only intelligent life in the universe? There are numerous instances that have led us to believe that are “aliens” in the skies.

The idea that aliens come to earth is harder to believe than that they are real. There are hundreds of planets believed to be just like earth. NASA is taking steps to figuring out if there is a possibility of other planets hosting life. According to NASA’s website, “[NASA is] also turning the Space Launch Systems attention to exploring the possibilities of food crops grown in controlled environments for long-duration missions to deep-space destinations such as Mars.”

The conversation goes into a gray area, especially if the question,“why haven’t they contacted us yet,” appears. That is where a lot of people start doubting life outside of earth; they mistakenly assume they have had time to evolve and get technology, yet haven’t contacted us.

There is also a religious argument that God only created the heavens and earth, clearly stated in the Bible. In my opinion, the Bible is just stories that people have written down. It was passed through the oral tradition and translated time after time--stories change. It’s science versus religion in a lot of these arguments.

We see on Earth that most places on this planet have life, even in extreme conditions from the deep, dark, oxygen-deprived ocean trenches to the hot acidic springs in Yellowstone National Park to the driest desert known. There could be life on Mars that either originated there or here and ‘hitchhiked’ there on space rocks. Jupiter's moon, Europa, could have life that originated independently underneath the ice shell where there is strong evidence of a liquid water ocean. We are beginning to find planets around other stars that have similarities to Earth and they could have oceans, atmospheres and probably life.

Even with research, this is one of those things that will likely remain inconclusive. However, that doesn’t mean we should stop trying to find an answer.


Editorial Cartoon: It takes more than just an idea

posted Nov 3, 2017, 11:24 AM by Cassie Brozovich


How much is too much?

posted Oct 23, 2017, 10:10 AM by Travis Willson   [ updated Nov 6, 2017, 9:22 AM ]

How much homework is too much? The Washington Post says that there is too much homework given out in the high schools across America. I’m sure most students would agree with me that most of their nights are spent with hours of homework. According to Health Line, the current amount of homework does not give students the amount of time they need to eat right, sleep, and socialize; in other words, to live a healthy life.

Besides the fact that students have homework, they also have other things on their plate. Many students have a job or a sports practice after school, which can take up several hours after school each day. Varsity practices are often three or four hours long, and adding an extreme amount of homework to the top of that can cause many students an undue amount of stress.

Many students have even developed social disorders from not being able to handle relationships and homework. This can cause students to fall into a depressed state, and all solutions to help depression requires time to participate in hobbies or hang out with friends-- time students just do not have.

Teachers also need to be aware of this issue. They need to understand that students don’t just have homework in their one class; they have homework in several other classes, and if these classes are upper level, that accounts for an even greater amount of homework. Even if teachers don’t decrease the amount of homework, they can help by placing their tests on different days than other classes or scheduling big group projects throughout the semester instead of just as finals. Some of the most stressful days that students have are when there are three or even four tests in one day.

It is understandable why teachers give homework: it gives them an estimate of where students are individually. However, maybe instead of giving so much homework, they should let the students work a little in class. This allows them to ask questions and seek help if necessary while also giving them time later in the day for other work.

Some students say that they don’t have too much homework, or even not enough homework, but this does not represent the student body as a whole. The students that say this may not participate in sports, have a job, or even be an active member of a school group. Many student at Conway Springs High School play at least one sport and participate in many groups such as Scholar’s Bowl, the school play or Student Council. Many students also have a job; whether it's a job they chose, a job on a family farm or business, or maybe even a job to help support their family. This is why I believe that homework is a good thing, but only in moderation. Students do need to learn how to study for college, but not to the point that their whole high school career is dominated by stress.


Required Classes Should be Electives

posted Oct 12, 2017, 10:04 AM by Stephanie Brozovich

As students converse between classes, there are often complaints of a class, saying it’s useless to make it required, and that they’ll never need to use it again outside of school. For example, all students at Conway Springs High School are required to have three years of math and science. Students’ complaints are often based off of core classes, such as math and science, which become more advanced as the years go by. Physics, Chemistry, Trigonometry, and Calculus are advanced math and science classes that not every student will use later on in everyday life and in their careers.

 Dr. Bruce Umbaugh, a philosophy professor at Webster University in St. Louis, Mo. is against the idea of making core classes electives. Umbaugh emphasizes the fact that students concentrate so hard on what they’ll select as a major that they often overlook the importance of learning general skills like problem solving, communicating effectively, and analyzing information, which are often gained through general education classes, including upper-level math and science. On the other hand, College professors, such as Paul Hanstedt, an English professor at Roanoke College in Salem, Virginia, believes these classes “go hand in hand with each other and are very important”.

However, the advanced classes that we are required to take focus on certain scenarios that deal with that field of science or math. You won’t need to know how to do a complex chemistry or calculus problems to know how to solve a problem that may come up in your art career. This is why I think that advanced classes of the core subjects should be an elective, not a requirement.

Although I understand that general skills such as Dr. Umbaugh mentioned can be learned through these classes, I think they are so fact-based that teachers don’t have the time to allow students to learn them because they are so busy memorizing facts. These subjects require so much understanding of the basic, multiple choice type knowledge that there is not the opportunity to learn through essays and projects that require broader understanding.

Fine Arts' educational importance

posted Apr 25, 2017, 10:59 AM by Makenna Beesley   [ updated May 1, 2017, 6:27 AM ]

In Kansas and most of the United States, schools’ fine arts programs are receiving  severe budget cuts. However, they are vital to students’ education. There are so many things that people can benefit from fine arts programs like music, art, photography, theater, and graphic design. The arts are what makes us most human.

According to the KATY Independent School District, there is data that supports the belief that participation in fine arts is a key component in improving students’ learning in all academic subjects. It also says that fine arts programs reduce the amount of student dropouts, raise student attendance, develop better team players and enhance creativity. Fine arts also improve fine motor skills and emotional balance.

The arts also have other benefits besides those that are academic based, like promoting self-esteem, motivation, cultural exposure and emotional expression, as well as social harmony and appreciation of diversity. In a study by Burton in 1999, after studying more than 2,000 students, researchers found that those in a fine arts program were far superior in creative thinking, self-concept, problem solving, self-expression, risk-taking and cooperation than those who were not.

            We need fine arts programs in our schools to not just help students academically but to help them emotionally. These programs will not only make students’ lives happy and more enjoyable, but they will also help to shape better people in our world.

Students should avoid taking out student loans

posted Apr 19, 2017, 11:17 AM by stu.maryberntsen@usd356.org

When you are thinking of college and its expenses, what is the first thing you do? For some, it is to apply for financial aid, scholarships and student loans. All students are required to complete the FAFSA form for the federal government. Those students who qualify are offered grants, and most students and/or their parents are offered loans. While it might be tempting to accept loans, I think they are something to avoid. Did you know that roughly 70 percent of college graduates graduate with student loan debt?

Student Loan Hero gathered statistics from graduates of the class of 2016, and the average student loan debt was around $37,000. That number rose 6 percent from the year before and is expected to rise again in 2017. As deep in debt as this country already is, I don’t like the idea of adding my name to the list of 44 million people who have student loan debt. I think that it’s okay to try to find aid in the form of scholarships and grants when you don’t have the money on hand, but getting into debt for a degree you might not use right after college seems a little silly.

Scholarships and grants are your best bet to get free money for college, and they give you a chance to build wealth. Building wealth will give you a chance to save more money for the next year and so on until you graduate. Applying for loans should be avoided as much as you can and if you do get one, make sure it’s small enough that you can pay it off quickly. You might have to work a little harder to get the money, but if you can graduate debt-free then it would be worth it.

The benefits of reading

posted Apr 19, 2017, 8:47 AM by Madelyn Koester

While reading can sometimes be boring and tedious, it can also be very beneficial. Reading can have many positive aspects. According to an article on Reader's Digest, it gives muscle to your memory, relieves stress, boosts your vocabulary, improves empathy, can encourage life goals, helps you get more connected and can brighten your day.

Reading also has the ability to keep your brain young. According to a recent study from Rush University Medical Center, adults who spend their downtime doing intellectual activities (like reading) had a 32 percent slower rate of cognitive decline later in life than those who didn’t. Another study by Robert S. Wilson, Ph.D., professor of neuropsychology at Rush University Medical Center, said that older adults who regularly read or play mentally challenging games are two and a half times less likely to develop Alzheimer’s Disease.

I personally like to read if it is an interesting book or subject. I think the reason why most people don’t like reading is because they can’t find something that interests them. Some people don’t like to read because they think they are too slow, while other people think they just aren’t good at reading.

I believe that if people want to succeed in something, they should practice. So, if you are one of those people who don’t believe they are “good” at something, I encourage you to practice at it everyday. It doesn’t have to be very long, but if you try at it, you will eventually see improvement overtime. Also, if you can’t find something that interests you, you could ask a librarian so they could try and help you find something that suits your interests.

Reading is crucial to succeeding in most things. Not only does it help you become smarter, but it also is good for your brain and could possibly benefit your mental health in the future. Overall, I would encourage everyone of all ages to find something that interests them and to read more. It could help you now and in future circumstances to come.


1-10 of 60