Opinion‎ > ‎

Reviews


‘The Hurting, The Healing, The Loving’

posted by Alivia Lange


The songs on Camila Cabello's new album “The Hurting, The Healing, The Loving” show great emotion and what things she went through. Included with the album is a dedication that’s a little different than the typical.

“To the hurting, thank you for teaching me that even if at night you take me into the deepest depths of the ocean, I will still wake in the morning. To the healing, thank you for the tears. When they finally came, they tasted like God. To the loving, you are even more beautiful than I remember,” it reads.

Cabello’s top songs include “Havana (Ft. Young Thug)” with 367.9 thousand views on the Genius.com website, “OMG (Ft. Quavo)” with 226 thousand, and “I Have Questions” with 281.8 thousand.

Even though the album has a lot of emotion, most people don’t know the story behind “The Hurting, The Healing, The Loving.”

“The story behind the album starts with the second song that you'll hear called ‘I Have Questions,’ which I started writing in a hotel bathroom on tour a little over a year ago.I was completely broken during that time, I was in the kind of pain that's uncomfortable to talk about... I was making music about everything BUT what I was going through. One day I just could not run anymore. I pulled up the lyrics from the year before, and ‘I Have Questions’ was written," she told Billboard magazine.“I realized I wasn't making music just to make an album anymore, I was making this music to heal. ... I didn't write it with the intention of delivering a message, but I realized the message was in the hurting, the healing, and the loving.” (See the full story here.)

            I really like these songs because they’re really from the heart, and they just connect with me when I hear them. When I hear “Havana” I can really relate to how she feels during the song. “Havana” is about her falling in love. Her song “I Have Questions” is about a friendship, not a romantic relationship. I feel with a friendship you think it’s going to last forever. You start considering that person like they’re family, and you don't see an end to that, so if they suddenly leave, it’s a shocking or abrupt ending that’s worse than a gradual growing apart. I can relate to this in so many ways, it just hits you in the feels when you hear the song, and when you understand the lyrics, it just means so much more.

I give Camila Cabello’s new album five cardinal heads.

Rating 5 cardinals.jpg


 

 

 

 

 

 


'Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales'

posted Oct 13, 2017, 8:05 AM by Cassie Brozovich


In the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie, Captain Jack Sparrow’s luck is running out as his old nemesis, Captain Salazar, hunts him down to break a curse. When Jack decides to help a young lad and lass find the trident of Poseidon to break curses of their own, Salazar finds them and the battle between the pirates begin.

The animation and CGI in ‘Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales’ was marvelous. If I were a young child watching the movie, I would have thought every bit of it was real. The crew’s makeup and effects fit the movie phenomenally with all of the action that was occurring.

    As a fan of Johnny Depp, I was excited to see him back in action. In this swashbuckling movie, I was kept at the edge of my seat, not knowing what was coming next. Even though I didn’t know what to expect with this drawn out series, I was thoroughly impressed with how it turned out. ‘Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales’ definitely deserves a 5 Cardinal Head rating.

Disney remakes a ‘tale as old as time’

posted May 3, 2017, 11:17 AM by Makenna Beesley   [ updated May 8, 2017, 11:33 AM ]

Image result for beauty and the beastDisney’s newest remade live action film, “Beauty and the Beast”, was a hit in box offices for a reason. Emma Watson was a perfect Belle, with her partner Dan Stevens as the Beast. This remake of a favorite classic didn’t disappoint, from the witty banter between Lumiere and Cogsworth to the plights of Gaston (Luke Evans) and LeFou. Even though the producers had to change and add elements to this story, they were so well integrated, it was sometimes difficult to tell if they’d been in the original or not.

The basic plot is the same, with the opening telling the story of a wicked prince who is cursed for not helping an enchantress, who turns him into a beast and places a spell on the castle and everyone who lived there. Belle is then seen in the village years later, with Gaston trying to woo her and Belle’s father leaving for the market. We then see the beast for the first time, and Belle takes her father’s place as prisoner. The familiar story continues from there, where despite her fears, Belle becomes friends with the enchanted staff at the castle, and learns to look past the beast’s terrifying exterior, which allows her to see the kind heart and soul of the prince that’s hidden on the inside.

The makeup, costumes and special effects were amazing. It felt so realistic, and the Beast’s whole image was astounding. I found myself re-falling in love with a movie I first watched as a kid. Anyone who loved the original will love this remake as well. I especially loved the Beast’s added song, “Evermore”. I was laughing, singing along, and marveling at the whole universe that was made. For this ‘tale as old as time,’ I give “Beauty and the Beast” five out of five cardinal heads.

CSHS play successful once again

posted Apr 11, 2017, 8:34 AM by Amanda Smith

For the second consecutive year, the school and community could enjoy a spring play.  This year’s play was “The Legend of Robin Hood… Sort of”,  directed by Kacy Blake. Although I did not watch last year’s performance, I was set on watching the satire remake of Robin Hood.

The first thing I noticed while watching the play was the perfect choice of the cast. Sophomore Caden Runnalls took on the role of the Sheriff of Nottingham, which I found to be the perfect choice. His quirky mannerisms and attitude made his scenes intriguing and funny. Sophomore Ben Doffing acting alongside as Robin Hood created a funny and playful atmosphere.

Seniors Chloe Henderson and Michelle Willson’s experience in acting was apparent throughout the performance, with Willson portraying three characters: Friar Tuck, Seller #1, and King Richard, and Henderson acting as Witch Waye.

Other actors included senior Matthias Doffing as King John, freshman Amy Zoglmann as Little John and junior Cassie Brozovich as Maid Marian. Like the other performers, these actors did a fantastic job as well, each one bringing their own kind of attitude and portraying each character effectively.

The play included puns, my favorite type of humor, and a lot of dry humor. With the cast being these type of people, the play was a huge success in my opinion. Because of the humor and well executed performance, I give this performance five out of five cardinal heads.

The Founder finally tells his story

posted Mar 29, 2017, 8:52 AM by stu.zachschwarzenberger@usd356.org   [ updated Mar 29, 2017, 8:54 AM ]

“The Founder” is a true story about how Ray Kroc, a traveling salesman from Illinois, met the brothers Mac and Dick McDonald and turned their small burger business into the huge franchise that it is today.

When I saw the commercials for this movie, I instantly wanted to see it. Why wouldn’t you want to see how one of the biggest businesses in the world started? It was released in theaters on Dec. 16, 2016.

The movie begins showing us the life of Ray Kroc as he’s trying to sell a milkshake maker to several restaurants, to no avail.So, he heads back to his apartment, where we learn that Ray has tried to sell several things in the past with the aspiration that one day he would make it big. Suddenly, Ray gets a phone call from his company letting him know that a small shop called McDonald’s has ordered several milkshake makers. To his disbelief, he heads for the restaurant.

What he finds is the first burger joint to ever use the “Speedy System”. The “Speedy System” is a carefully laid out building where every employee can move in perfect motion and make food ready for the buyer in under 30 seconds. This inspires Ray to speak to the owners of the restaurant, the McDonald brothers, about turning it into a franchise. The brothers very cautiously agree to the idea and have Ray set up plans for the country-wide expansion.

The drama between Ray and the brothers, along with all the decisions he makes to keep the company moving, makes the movie very entertaining, and it was great to see how this massive corporation came to be. The reviews for this movie are generally pretty good, and I feel the same way. I’d rate this movie four cardinal heads out of five.

‘Before I Fall’ gives a different perspective

posted Mar 13, 2017, 8:45 AM by Rachel Stuhlsatz

A popular teenager, Samantha Kingston, thinks she has every thing she could ever want - she has three best friends and a boyfriend whom every girl in school wants. On Valentine's Day, one of their classmates is having a party that they attend, but something goes terribly wrong that night.

On their way back home, they get in a car crash. When she wakes up the next morning, Samantha finds that she is reliving the previous day, but now she has the opportunity to make different decisions. No matter what she does, though, the crash still happens every time. She can’t figure out how to move on. Finally, she figures out that if she works to be a better person, she will move on.

Before “Before I Fall” was a movie, it was a book written by Lauren Oliver. I have not read the book yet but plan to soon. “Before I Fall” is a good movie for all teenagers to see. It definitely opens your eyes to see how your actions are affecting others around you. Common Sense Media says, “This well-acted young-adult adaptation explores powerful themes about making second chances count and seeing beyond the superficial to what really matters.”

This movie was given a rating of 67% on Rotten Tomatoes, but I believe that is an unfair rating. I give this movie a five out of five cardinal heads.



“Hush” me not

posted Mar 9, 2017, 8:50 AM by Jade Leslie   [ updated Mar 9, 2017, 8:52 AM ]

“Hush” me not

Image result for hushThe movie “Hush” is a suspenseful thriller and leaves you holding onto your seat. Maddie (Kate Siegel) is a deaf-mute writer who lives alone. There were several moments in this movie that were unexpected. The fact that Maddie was a deaf-mute person made this movie even more interesting. At the beginning of the movie, her neighbor, Sarah, comes running over one night and bangs on the door for help to escape a murderer, but Maddie doesn’t hear her and is completely unaware of the killer.

He then murders Sarah just a few feet from where Maddie is.The killer knocks on the door but Maddie doesn’t hear him. This causes him to be fascinated by her. He decides to make her his newest victim. He starts playing games with her by sending her photos of her sleeping.

Eventually, she finds out about him, but he doesn’t just kill her. He is killing for fun, so he decides to have a little more with her. Maddie tries to reason with him by writing “won’t tell, didn’t see face, boyfriend coming home.” The killer then takes off his mask and says now she has seen his face.

This movie was a definite nail biter. Personally, I really liked this movie and would like to see more movies by Mike Flanagan. The actress who played Maddie did really well. If you are into suspense, then this movie would be a must watch for you. This movie is now one of my top ten favorite movies.


Is there too much pressure to have “perfect” bodies?

posted Feb 22, 2017, 8:40 AM by Jade Leslie

Nowadays, there is way too much pressure on girls to have the “perfect body.” One of the main places the pressure comes from is other people in the form of bullying. Bullying is in schools, work, on the internet - it's everywhere.

It is not even just girls; guys are feeling pressured to have “perfect” bodies as well. People often compare themselves to celebrities and models in magazines and on social media. Another reason common among teens is that because of puberty, they do not like the way their bodies developed.

All of this pressure for “perfect” bodies causes so many problems. People start to develop eating disorders, hurt themselves and start to have all kinds of other mental disorders. News Medical says that 75 percent of women report having an eating disorder.

People can be very judgemental and are often too hard on other people. I believe people should not be so judgemental. If someone is happy with their body, then let them be happy.

NEDA Feeding Hope gives the following things you can do to help prevent eating disorders:

  • “Genuine awareness will help you avoid judgemental or mistaken attitudes about food.

  • Challenge the thin ideal.

  • Decide to avoid judging others and yourself on the basis of weight or body shape.

  • Talk about it.

  • Be a model of healthy self-esteem and body image.

  • Chose to talk about yourself in a positive manner and recognize that others pay attention and learn from the way you talk about yourself.

  • Take action.

  • Be a critical viewer of the media and its messages about  self-esteem and body image.”


‘Split’ feelings for Shyamalan’s newest film

posted Feb 21, 2017, 9:13 AM by Amanda Smith

          

After watching the trailer for the most talked about thriller movie of the year, I knew I would see it on opening night. “Split”, directed by M. Night Shyamalan, reached theaters Jan. 20, one of the first big films of the year. It follows the story of three teenage girls who are abducted from a parking lot by Dennis, one of the 23 personalities of Kevin Crumb (played by James McAvoy) who suffers from dissociative identity disorder.  

As the girls are locked in a room together, they slowly unravel the multiple personalities of Kevin. Casey, the outcast of the group, tries to convince the non-violent personalities to let them go and attempts to befriend one of the personalities, Hedwig, a 9-year-old boy who warns them of “The Beast”, a personality yet to be revealed. Through thrill, suspense and even humor, the characters of the movie draw the audience in.  

Although the plot had great potential for a memorable movie and the casting was great, it was a bit of an upset. It seems as if they simply tried too hard. In many scenes, I wasn’t sure whether to laugh or be freaked out. The idea of “The Beast” and its different superhuman-abilities was a bit far-fetched for my liking. Knowing his work, I expected more out of Shyamalan and a better ending.

Rotten Tomatoes gave “Split” a 74%, a rating that I feel is fair. I give it three out of five cardinal heads.

Rating 3 cardinals.jpg


Barry: A blast from the past

posted Feb 6, 2017, 8:46 AM by Leah Reep   [ updated Feb 6, 2017, 8:51 AM ]

Recently, as all of us know, we gained our new forty-fifth president, but what about our recent one? Barack Obama was known for serving us as president for two terms and being the first African-American president of the United States. He was born in Hawaii, but his white mother was from Kansas and his black father from Kenya. Being mixed did not always benefit him when he was younger.

The movie “Barry” was made as a Netflix original and was released December 16. It is based on President Obama’s days as a college student. Barry arrives in New York City in 1981 to finish his junior year at Columbia University. He moves to the Big Apple after receiving a letter from his father inviting him to Kenya after 10 years. He soon realizes that he does not fit in with white or black people. Barry, determined to find himself, goes to his politics college classes and automatically gets singled out, except for one girl, Charlotte, who finds his love for politics intriguing.

As the movie goes on, Barry struggles to stay connected to his friends, mother, estranged father who lives in Kenya and his classmates. Realizing he is losing himself, he starts to play basketball at a local park in the projects and makes a new acquaintance, PJ. PJ is willing to show Barry how to live in the projects and how real “brothers” live. After spending some time in Harlem with PJ, he is physically assaulted by a man who assumes Barry is doing him wrong by talking to “his girl”. Barry automatically returns to Charlotte, drunk and beaten up. They argue about his well being and Barry realizes that he has been living wrong, and after getting a call that his father has passed away in a car accident, he decides to change.

I absolutely loved this movie. With the recent events in our country, I thought it would be suitable to watch this. The overall quality of the movie was great, and the plot was consistent. Devon Terrell, who played Barry, was the perfect match to represent Obama when he was a youth.

The movie “Barry” was rated on IMDb with 5.9/10 stars, but I think should have received better feedback. I would give this movie four out of five cardinal heads.


1-10 of 64