Opinion‎ > ‎

Reviews


Disney remakes a ‘tale as old as time’

posted May 3, 2017, 11:17 AM by Makenna Beesley   [ updated May 8, 2017, 11:33 AM ]

Image result for beauty and the beastDisney’s newest remade live action film, “Beauty and the Beast”, was a hit in box offices for a reason. Emma Watson was a perfect Belle, with her partner Dan Stevens as the Beast. This remake of a favorite classic didn’t disappoint, from the witty banter between Lumiere and Cogsworth to the plights of Gaston (Luke Evans) and LeFou. Even though the producers had to change and add elements to this story, they were so well integrated, it was sometimes difficult to tell if they’d been in the original or not.

The basic plot is the same, with the opening telling the story of a wicked prince who is cursed for not helping an enchantress, who turns him into a beast and places a spell on the castle and everyone who lived there. Belle is then seen in the village years later, with Gaston trying to woo her and Belle’s father leaving for the market. We then see the beast for the first time, and Belle takes her father’s place as prisoner. The familiar story continues from there, where despite her fears, Belle becomes friends with the enchanted staff at the castle, and learns to look past the beast’s terrifying exterior, which allows her to see the kind heart and soul of the prince that’s hidden on the inside.

The makeup, costumes and special effects were amazing. It felt so realistic, and the Beast’s whole image was astounding. I found myself re-falling in love with a movie I first watched as a kid. Anyone who loved the original will love this remake as well. I especially loved the Beast’s added song, “Evermore”. I was laughing, singing along, and marveling at the whole universe that was made. For this ‘tale as old as time,’ I give “Beauty and the Beast” five out of five cardinal heads.

CSHS play successful once again

posted Apr 11, 2017, 8:34 AM by Amanda Smith

For the second consecutive year, the school and community could enjoy a spring play.  This year’s play was “The Legend of Robin Hood… Sort of”,  directed by Kacy Blake. Although I did not watch last year’s performance, I was set on watching the satire remake of Robin Hood.

The first thing I noticed while watching the play was the perfect choice of the cast. Sophomore Caden Runnalls took on the role of the Sheriff of Nottingham, which I found to be the perfect choice. His quirky mannerisms and attitude made his scenes intriguing and funny. Sophomore Ben Doffing acting alongside as Robin Hood created a funny and playful atmosphere.

Seniors Chloe Henderson and Michelle Willson’s experience in acting was apparent throughout the performance, with Willson portraying three characters: Friar Tuck, Seller #1, and King Richard, and Henderson acting as Witch Waye.

Other actors included senior Matthias Doffing as King John, freshman Amy Zoglmann as Little John and junior Cassie Brozovich as Maid Marian. Like the other performers, these actors did a fantastic job as well, each one bringing their own kind of attitude and portraying each character effectively.

The play included puns, my favorite type of humor, and a lot of dry humor. With the cast being these type of people, the play was a huge success in my opinion. Because of the humor and well executed performance, I give this performance five out of five cardinal heads.

The Founder finally tells his story

posted Mar 29, 2017, 8:52 AM by Zachary Schwarzenberger   [ updated Mar 29, 2017, 8:54 AM ]

“The Founder” is a true story about how Ray Kroc, a traveling salesman from Illinois, met the brothers Mac and Dick McDonald and turned their small burger business into the huge franchise that it is today.

When I saw the commercials for this movie, I instantly wanted to see it. Why wouldn’t you want to see how one of the biggest businesses in the world started? It was released in theaters on Dec. 16, 2016.

The movie begins showing us the life of Ray Kroc as he’s trying to sell a milkshake maker to several restaurants, to no avail.So, he heads back to his apartment, where we learn that Ray has tried to sell several things in the past with the aspiration that one day he would make it big. Suddenly, Ray gets a phone call from his company letting him know that a small shop called McDonald’s has ordered several milkshake makers. To his disbelief, he heads for the restaurant.

What he finds is the first burger joint to ever use the “Speedy System”. The “Speedy System” is a carefully laid out building where every employee can move in perfect motion and make food ready for the buyer in under 30 seconds. This inspires Ray to speak to the owners of the restaurant, the McDonald brothers, about turning it into a franchise. The brothers very cautiously agree to the idea and have Ray set up plans for the country-wide expansion.

The drama between Ray and the brothers, along with all the decisions he makes to keep the company moving, makes the movie very entertaining, and it was great to see how this massive corporation came to be. The reviews for this movie are generally pretty good, and I feel the same way. I’d rate this movie four cardinal heads out of five.

‘Before I Fall’ gives a different perspective

posted Mar 13, 2017, 8:45 AM by Rachel Stuhlsatz

A popular teenager, Samantha Kingston, thinks she has every thing she could ever want - she has three best friends and a boyfriend whom every girl in school wants. On Valentine's Day, one of their classmates is having a party that they attend, but something goes terribly wrong that night.

On their way back home, they get in a car crash. When she wakes up the next morning, Samantha finds that she is reliving the previous day, but now she has the opportunity to make different decisions. No matter what she does, though, the crash still happens every time. She can’t figure out how to move on. Finally, she figures out that if she works to be a better person, she will move on.

Before “Before I Fall” was a movie, it was a book written by Lauren Oliver. I have not read the book yet but plan to soon. “Before I Fall” is a good movie for all teenagers to see. It definitely opens your eyes to see how your actions are affecting others around you. Common Sense Media says, “This well-acted young-adult adaptation explores powerful themes about making second chances count and seeing beyond the superficial to what really matters.”

This movie was given a rating of 67% on Rotten Tomatoes, but I believe that is an unfair rating. I give this movie a five out of five cardinal heads.



“Hush” me not

posted Mar 9, 2017, 8:50 AM by Jade Leslie   [ updated Mar 9, 2017, 8:52 AM ]

“Hush” me not

Image result for hushThe movie “Hush” is a suspenseful thriller and leaves you holding onto your seat. Maddie (Kate Siegel) is a deaf-mute writer who lives alone. There were several moments in this movie that were unexpected. The fact that Maddie was a deaf-mute person made this movie even more interesting. At the beginning of the movie, her neighbor, Sarah, comes running over one night and bangs on the door for help to escape a murderer, but Maddie doesn’t hear her and is completely unaware of the killer.

He then murders Sarah just a few feet from where Maddie is.The killer knocks on the door but Maddie doesn’t hear him. This causes him to be fascinated by her. He decides to make her his newest victim. He starts playing games with her by sending her photos of her sleeping.

Eventually, she finds out about him, but he doesn’t just kill her. He is killing for fun, so he decides to have a little more with her. Maddie tries to reason with him by writing “won’t tell, didn’t see face, boyfriend coming home.” The killer then takes off his mask and says now she has seen his face.

This movie was a definite nail biter. Personally, I really liked this movie and would like to see more movies by Mike Flanagan. The actress who played Maddie did really well. If you are into suspense, then this movie would be a must watch for you. This movie is now one of my top ten favorite movies.


Is there too much pressure to have “perfect” bodies?

posted Feb 22, 2017, 8:40 AM by Jade Leslie

Nowadays, there is way too much pressure on girls to have the “perfect body.” One of the main places the pressure comes from is other people in the form of bullying. Bullying is in schools, work, on the internet - it's everywhere.

It is not even just girls; guys are feeling pressured to have “perfect” bodies as well. People often compare themselves to celebrities and models in magazines and on social media. Another reason common among teens is that because of puberty, they do not like the way their bodies developed.

All of this pressure for “perfect” bodies causes so many problems. People start to develop eating disorders, hurt themselves and start to have all kinds of other mental disorders. News Medical says that 75 percent of women report having an eating disorder.

People can be very judgemental and are often too hard on other people. I believe people should not be so judgemental. If someone is happy with their body, then let them be happy.

NEDA Feeding Hope gives the following things you can do to help prevent eating disorders:

  • “Genuine awareness will help you avoid judgemental or mistaken attitudes about food.

  • Challenge the thin ideal.

  • Decide to avoid judging others and yourself on the basis of weight or body shape.

  • Talk about it.

  • Be a model of healthy self-esteem and body image.

  • Chose to talk about yourself in a positive manner and recognize that others pay attention and learn from the way you talk about yourself.

  • Take action.

  • Be a critical viewer of the media and its messages about  self-esteem and body image.”


‘Split’ feelings for Shyamalan’s newest film

posted Feb 21, 2017, 9:13 AM by Amanda Smith

          

After watching the trailer for the most talked about thriller movie of the year, I knew I would see it on opening night. “Split”, directed by M. Night Shyamalan, reached theaters Jan. 20, one of the first big films of the year. It follows the story of three teenage girls who are abducted from a parking lot by Dennis, one of the 23 personalities of Kevin Crumb (played by James McAvoy) who suffers from dissociative identity disorder.  

As the girls are locked in a room together, they slowly unravel the multiple personalities of Kevin. Casey, the outcast of the group, tries to convince the non-violent personalities to let them go and attempts to befriend one of the personalities, Hedwig, a 9-year-old boy who warns them of “The Beast”, a personality yet to be revealed. Through thrill, suspense and even humor, the characters of the movie draw the audience in.  

Although the plot had great potential for a memorable movie and the casting was great, it was a bit of an upset. It seems as if they simply tried too hard. In many scenes, I wasn’t sure whether to laugh or be freaked out. The idea of “The Beast” and its different superhuman-abilities was a bit far-fetched for my liking. Knowing his work, I expected more out of Shyamalan and a better ending.

Rotten Tomatoes gave “Split” a 74%, a rating that I feel is fair. I give it three out of five cardinal heads.

Rating 3 cardinals.jpg


Barry: A blast from the past

posted Feb 6, 2017, 8:46 AM by Leah Reep   [ updated Feb 6, 2017, 8:51 AM ]

Recently, as all of us know, we gained our new forty-fifth president, but what about our recent one? Barack Obama was known for serving us as president for two terms and being the first African-American president of the United States. He was born in Hawaii, but his white mother was from Kansas and his black father from Kenya. Being mixed did not always benefit him when he was younger.

The movie “Barry” was made as a Netflix original and was released December 16. It is based on President Obama’s days as a college student. Barry arrives in New York City in 1981 to finish his junior year at Columbia University. He moves to the Big Apple after receiving a letter from his father inviting him to Kenya after 10 years. He soon realizes that he does not fit in with white or black people. Barry, determined to find himself, goes to his politics college classes and automatically gets singled out, except for one girl, Charlotte, who finds his love for politics intriguing.

As the movie goes on, Barry struggles to stay connected to his friends, mother, estranged father who lives in Kenya and his classmates. Realizing he is losing himself, he starts to play basketball at a local park in the projects and makes a new acquaintance, PJ. PJ is willing to show Barry how to live in the projects and how real “brothers” live. After spending some time in Harlem with PJ, he is physically assaulted by a man who assumes Barry is doing him wrong by talking to “his girl”. Barry automatically returns to Charlotte, drunk and beaten up. They argue about his well being and Barry realizes that he has been living wrong, and after getting a call that his father has passed away in a car accident, he decides to change.

I absolutely loved this movie. With the recent events in our country, I thought it would be suitable to watch this. The overall quality of the movie was great, and the plot was consistent. Devon Terrell, who played Barry, was the perfect match to represent Obama when he was a youth.

The movie “Barry” was rated on IMDb with 5.9/10 stars, but I think should have received better feedback. I would give this movie four out of five cardinal heads.


Rouge One lives up to Star Wars name

posted Jan 31, 2017, 9:12 AM by Zachary Schwarzenberger

When Lucasfilms announced that they were going to make “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story”,
which takes place between Episodes III and IV, people were skeptical. After all, we already know that in “Star Wars IV: A New Hope”, the rebels were only able to get the Death Star's plans at a great loss. So, if we can easily assume what happens, then why make the movie? The answer lies in the well-known quote widely attributed to Ralph Waldo Emerson: “It’s not the destination that matters, it’s the journey.”

The movie starts by introducing you to Galen Erso, a former scientist, and his wife and young daughter Jyn. This is very short lived though, as Orson Krennic invades their farm and kidnaps Galen. Fast forward years later, and Galen is now the head engineer for the Empire building the strongest weapon in the galaxy, the Death Star.

Knowing that her father is the only one who can stop it, Jyn embarks to retrieve the Death Star's plans and give them to the Rebel Alliance. Joining her on her journey is Cassian Andor, a rebel intelligence officer; K-2SO, a reprogrammed droid; Chirrut Imwe, a blind warrior who believes in the force and Baze Malbus, a rebel mercenary. This ragtag group later gives themselves the name “Rogue One”.

I thought that this movie was great. Being a huge fan of action and sci-fi movies, my favorite part had to be the huge battle near the end of the movie. This movie was definitely worthy of the Star Wars name and totally worth going to see in theaters. If you haven’t seen this movie yet, and you like Star Wars at all, then I strongly advise that you do. It was released Dec. 16, 2016, and who knows how long it will stay in theaters. I’d rate this five cardinal heads out of five.

Collateral Beauty challenges reviews

posted Jan 25, 2017, 11:34 AM by Makenna Beesley

        After Howard (Will Smith), a New York advertising executive, suffers the loss of his 6-year-old daughter, he retreats into himself. He ignores everything, even his friends (played by Kate Winslet, Edward Norton and Michael Peña) as they try to get him to remember his life and his job, as all of their jobs are in jeopardy if he doesn’t return to his normal self. 
Howard looks for answers from the universe by writing letters to Love (Keira Knightley), Time (Jacob Latimore) and Death (Helen Mirren). When he gets personal replies, he’s furious at first, but begins to listen to these cosmos’ responses and realizes that these constants are in everyone’s lives and how even the worst losses can reveal moments of true meaning and beauty.
“Collateral Beauty” has a mind-blowing plot and touches base with things I think we can all connect with - grief, sickness, friendship, mental illness and love. This touching movie makes you think of your life and if you are living it to the full potential it should be.
        I knew I would love this movie ever since I first saw the trailer. I was at first angry when I learned that Howard’s friends wanted to prove he was crazy to get a huge business offer by hiring a private investigator to follow and record his reactions to things, even hiring actors to play Death, Time and Love. But, after each answer to Howard’s letters, I realized that his friends just wanted the best for him, and that this was what it was going to take to help him. I liked how it focused on Howard, and that each one of his friends’ lives were intertwined and you get a glimpse of each of their lives as well. I loved the ending, as it held a major plot twist I was not expecting, but I realized I needed to get closure from this heart-wrenching movie. 
        I was sad to see that most reviews for “Collateral Beauty” weren’t very good, but even with these poor and average ratings, it has still managed to make $61.2 million in the box office. I thought it was an amazing movie with a great cast, and I would give this movie five out of five cardinal heads.

1-10 of 62